Blog Archives

Colorado Income Tax Deadline

Colorado extended the income tax payment deadline for Colorado taxpayers until July 15, 2020 without penalty or interest. It applies to any income tax payment, regardless of the amount.  The state is not imposing any caps on the amount of

Posted in Colorado, Taxes

NEW IRS Charitable Contribution Regulations

The U.S. Department of the Treasury and the Internal Revenue Service today issued final regulations that require taxpayers to reduce their charitable contribution deductions by the amount of any state or local tax credits they receive or expect to receive

Posted in Colorado, IRS, Taxes

How to Form an LLC in Colorado

Choose a Name for Your LLC   Under Colorado law, an LLC must contain the words or abbreviation “limited liability company,” “ltd. liability company,” “limited liability co.,” “ltd. liability co.,” “limited,” “l.l.c.,” “llc” or “ltd.,”Limited Liability Company,” “Limited Company,” or

Posted in Colorado

Trade Names & DBAs

A trade name is a name, other than the true name, of an entity or individual under which the entity or individual is authorized to transact business or conduct activities.  Sometimes a trade name is referred to as a “doing

Posted in Colorado

2019 Colorado Minimum Wage

On January 1, 2019, the Colorado minimum wage increased to $11.10 per hour. For tipped employees, the minimum wage will be $8.08. These rates represent increases from the current levels of $10.20 and $7.18 respectively.   The new minimum wage

Posted in Colorado

Colorado’s New Minimum Wage

On January 1, 2018, the Colorado minimum wage will increase to $10.20 per hour. For tipped employees, the minimum wage will be $7.18. The new minimum wage is the result of the passage of Amendment 70 by Colorado voters in

Posted in Colorado

Worker Classification

While the definition of employment in Colorado law is broad and inclusive, it is not the same as the Internal Revenue Service. According to Colorado law, the two main concepts used to determine the status of a worker and whether

Posted in Colorado

Are Tips and Gratuities Subject to Sales Tax in Colorado?

Tips and gratuities are payments that are separately paid to someone providing a service. NOT TAXABLE Tips and gratuities are NOT subject to sales tax when they are left on the table or location where the service took place or

Posted in Colorado

Youth Summer Employment

Students will soon be looking for summer jobs, and Colorado has some work restrictions for minors working in the state of Colorado. Minors are not allowed to work more than 40 hours in a workweek or in excess of eight

Posted in Colorado

Minimum Wage to Increase January 1st

An amendment to the Colorado constitution has passed that will raise the state minimum wage to $9.30 per hour effective January 1st. The tipped minimum wage will be $6.28. The minimum wage will continue to increases 90 cents each January

Posted in Colorado